You and me

You and me were never meant to be

We should’ve walked past when we had the chance

But i chose to look past the flaw

Caught your eye and lost my heart

Fell in the depth of your voice.

Little did i know the joy and pain you’ll be

The pain that you’ve laid for me

But the love that i always longed

Led me on

A double sided knife that we both held on. for a long long time

Not knowing the pressure on each side

No one wins in a game of love and war

Or is everything fair in love and war ?

Was it fair to be trampled upon

Did you know how much i must have loved you

To let you destroy me in and out.

38 thoughts on “You and me

  1. shinepositivepower says:

    Compelling and touching. I guess love really becomes fair when the feeling is mutual and both parties are willing to share and give love, trying not to hurt each other. It becomes unfair when only one is in love but it happens. Keep loving! God bless! 🙂

  2. Rajagopal says:

    Thanks for following mine, in turn connecting me to your world of poesy. Lovely lines these, soaked in sentiments reminding me of the neil diamond song, ‘Me and you are subject to the blues now and then / But when you take the blues and make a song / You sing them out again / Sing them out again…” best wishes.

  3. gspottedpen says:

    Jessie, When I read your work I am reminded of two terms used in literary psychoanalysis, mourning and melancholia. Mourning is pining for a lost object and melancholia for an object that cannot be obtained. The poem falls into both categories. Anand Bose from Kerala

  4. devandave says:

    lovely piece- found one of my own , that i felt could be a reply to your poetry.

    They said thoughts make u miss something or someone.
    To me?
    I miss that sweet medley.
    That, of her voice ;
    She?
    That ‘someone’.
    Those silent moments when we heard each other’s thoughts; eyes became mediums of choice.
    Distance may have distanced merely bodily.
    Yet her eyes became windows to my civil sanctuary.

  5. devandave says:

    If i were to reply to your piece-

    They said thoughts make u miss something or someone.
    To me?
    I miss that sweet medley.
    That, of her voice ;
    She?
    That ‘someone’.
    Those silent moments when we heard each other’s thoughts; eyes became mediums of choice.
    Distance may have distanced merely bodily.
    Yet her eyes became windows to my civil sanctuary.

  6. IshmaImroz says:

    I have been through this and knows how it feels.. Never thought I will fall so deep! Anyways a lesoon is what I draw from it! I hope you are fine at the end of the day.. Loved your words and can feel the words deep within.. ❤

Leave a Reply

