What is poor

If you have a decent roof above you and can afford 3 meals a day, do not take it for granted. You are in fact richer than more than half of the world. World bank and many non profit organization have been trying various ways to eradicate this issue. Not to forget, many other unidentified individuals as well. Recently three engineers quit their lucrative jobs to clean their city in India. These are just a few good souls and organizations to highlight. There are many unknown saviors among us.

That made me ponder. I have lived a quarter century without much big hurdles in life.  I am blessed with a loving family and a decent financial background. I did not go bed hungry. I had good education and excellent facilities back home, which even allows me to connect with you people. But what have I done to help the society? I have reaped the benefits of my ancestors and the good governance of Singapore. Yet there are billions without proper sanitation, water, electricity, education, home. In addition to millions trapped in a politically unrest or war torn countries. I know i can’t help everyone but I can do something. Something small that will bring a smile on another.

I live in Singapore, that doesn’t mean poverty is nonexistent here. So many old uncles and aunties pick on scrap to earn their rice bowl. Many resort to selling tissue papers. The higher the cost of living the more the poor suffers. Earlier this year I started teaching kids as a voluntary service. One of the best decisions of my life. There is still more to be done, but a small step forward is all that it takes. I hope more people will spread love and help one another. Almost most of the world issues can be tackled with just love.

  • Eradicate poor manners (Treat everyone like how you would like to be treated)
  • Be kind to everyone (Karma can be real bummer)
  • Buy a meal for someone who can’t afford
  • Do any voluntary service
  • Instead of throwing a lavish birthday party, donate some of the money to an old folks home
  • Sponsor a child – I would like to applaud my friend Raya for doing that through world vision 🙂

When your heart is small and that’s when you are really poor.

47 thoughts on “What is poor

  1. anroworld says:

    Oh, what you said is so right! I live in a country when most of people surviving with a very low monthly budget! However, there are rich people who have really a lot of money and they did not want to see poor people…we become blind towards other problems and this is pretty serious!

  2. hasmeetwrites says:

    You’re just like me. I’m glad I found someone who has the exact same values as me. I often curse myself for the unrest and poverty in this world. Even I used to teach an underprivileged kid. It really made me aware of a different world. The world of the poor. The problems they faced. It was too much to handle.

  3. Gwenice Gwee says:

    Wow a fellow Singaporean! It’s nice of you to spread awareness about what people can do to help the poor. Indeed, many people take things for granted, and it’s time to take action! And such a timely post with the President Star Charity show airing on TV now haha 😉

  4. hooklineandinkwell says:

    This is great…how easy it is to help change the world and help those in need…we all have it in us to follow this lead…thanks for sharing!

  5. Raya says:

    Congrats my friend for being human. You’re simple and you’re kind. You’re not famous but you’re someone for sure. Helping is not a common nature in people these days. I’m glad you’re doing your role as a God’s child. And thank you for the shoutout. Appreciate. Continue growing and you’ll be someone’s living reason one day. (:

  6. Tiny says:

    Very good! I had similar thoughts when I was a young graduate and went on to spend a life time in development work. I still do consulting to evaluate results of several non-profits in terms of helping the poor to establish a decent life. And I sponsor children. It gives so much joy to know you are making a difference in someone’s life.

  7. chris jensen says:

    i would like to thank you for stopping by to have a read, i am forever changing my blog and start a new blog…

    i am always amazed at the new faces, which find my poetry…

    Something an old popular blogger, which goes be the name of https://hastywords.wordpress.com/

    tickled my imagination with poetry, i have not stop since that moment..

    Please to meet you, i found this post very much in line with my own thoughts…

    There are many question i wish to ask, however shall not, i so hate disappointment…

  8. Rareity says:

    I like this post. What n we take for granted what we have we are at higher risk of losing it. Be grateful for that you do have for those are our greatest blessings.

  9. khansana1000 says:

    Indeed those with small hearts are poor not with empty pockets, We need to learn to atleast give a portion of what we have received from Almighty as an expression of gratitude.Thank you for an inspiring post.

  10. New Journey says:

    great post….its such a pleasure to be able to help those who are in need…and I love doing it anonymously…so much more pleasure in it for me….thanks for hitting on a great topic….kat

  11. Andy Smart says:

    Hi there Jessie – Thanks for following Just Turn Left – Great blog – I could spend a long time nosing through your posts. This one really stood out for me though as next year I plan to hit the road across China. One of my primary targets will be hitting the disadvantaged areas. Huge portions of the country suffer heavily with extreme poverty. My next step will be to start a fundraiser to get some clothes together to take with me and hand out. Maybe teach some classes for a few weeks at each place and then keep in contact. We all have a mission, its just that some of us haven’t realised what it is yet. Please stay in touch – find me on Twitter under @AndySmart01. Pls add. Best and thanks again Jessie – Safe! >>> Andy

    1. Jessie says:

      Hi Andy, Thanks for stopping by and liking this post (which is one of my favorite posts too).. I am so glad I found your blog. Such a noble mission.I particularly like the one about rubbish & recycling.I hope to help India more with proper sanitation and their litter throwing issues! I wish you all the best with your mission! 😀

  12. Josh Gross | The Jaguar says:

    This is a great post. For those of us who’ve grown up with our basic needs provided for, it can be tempting to just ignore the fact that so many people live in abject poverty. I’m glad that you’re choosing to not ignore it, and are instead doing what you can to make a difference.

    1. Jessie says:

      Thanks Josh. Sometimes something just strikes us and make us realise how much we take things for granted. There is still loads of room for improvement on my side and it will be a continous work till I achieve it

Leave a Reply

