Travel Blog | France – Paris

Hello my Beautiful friends!

Its mid-week (yay!). This is also another long overdue post. I was putting off this for awhile as I have never done a travel blog. Mainly because I am not a savvy photographer. But guess what,! battling your inner flaws is your strength. So ta-da here it is! A trip to Paris. I traveled last year and only had a day stop over at Paris. So me and my colleague ( yes it was a business trip ) we extended a day to explore beautiful Paris.

We took a metro service called Thalys to travel from Amsterdam Central to Paris. A comfortable ride I would say. With Wi-Fi and lovely breakfast, it was worth every penny.

Thalys to paris

Heavy Breakfast in Thalys 

Thalys to paris snack

Tea snack!

Since it was just a day trip in Paris, we dumped our luggage in – Mercure Paris Bercy Bibliotheque. It was one of the cheaper hotels in the vicinity although I found it quite claustrophobic.

We set off on foot to take in as much as our eyes and brains could load. Since my colleague has been to Paris a couple of times, he was my GPS. And an excellent one indeed 😉

Effiel panaroma

After taking a train our first stop was to see the icon of France. Named after the engineer Alexandra Gustave Effiel – Effiel tower showed it’s massive height of 324m. And I tried to take a panorama shot,hope it does some justice to this beauty.

Effiel

Just me taking a tourist shot 😀

I took way too many effiel tower shots, simply because I couldn’t get over the majestic look of it.

Arc de Triomphe

Arc de triomphe

The next interesting monument that is very famous is Paris is arc de triomphe. It stands a whooping 50 m tall. Commonly known as triumphal Arch of the star, its iconography sets the atmosphere with triumphant patriotic messages.

 Obselisque de Louxor               Luxor Obelisk

            Obselisque de Louxor - close up

                                                                                               Luxor Obelisk  (close up)  

Another historical artifact that i came across is Luxor Obelisk which dates back more than 3000 years. History states that it is originally from Luxor Temple in Egypt and was gifted to France by Muhammed Ali, Khedive of Egypt. Intricate detailing.

Jeanne d'Arc

Jeanne d’arc

She is one of the patron saints in France who was falsely trialed and burnt at the stake at a mere age of nighteen, in year 1431 😦

Tuileries Garden panaroma

panorama shot in Tuileries Garden

We had to give our poor legs some love and rest before we continued our venture. A lovely garden situated in a bustling city. As everything else, this is also tied down with rich history. Created by Catherine de Medicis after the death of husband Henry II.

Lake in Tuileries garden

Chilling by the pond

After some needed rest, our next stop was The Lourve! More panorama pictures 😀

lourve panaroma

Panorama shot of The Lourve

Arc de triomphe du carrousel

arc de triomphe du carrousel

Situated at Napoleon Courtyard of the Palais du Louvre, the pyramids looked just like magical glasshouse!  With its origin dating back to medieval times and it used to be actual seat of power in France till 1789 as it was a former royal palace. Unfortunately time didn’t permit us to visit the museum 😦

Lourve

Louvre Pyramid

Our last stop was Moulin Rogue. A sexy and vibrant windmill house which absolutely lit up the area!

Moulin rouge

Moulin Rougue 

The original house was burnt down in 1915. This is place is often associated with the birthplace of modern can-can dance. Previously it used to be a zone for seductive dance which evolved as musical dance entertainment for present times. Thus making it a tourist destination. Don’t you love the colors?

Paris takes your breathe away at every nook and corner. Almost all the building’s architecture is mind blowing. The immense depth of history and beauty stops you in your track. One pair of eyes isn’t enough to take it all. The French definitely had a great taste and needless to say, I fell in love. I can’t wait for my next trip and I am definitely going to Disneyland !

*P.S : This is my first travel blog. What do yo u guys think of it?

107 thoughts on “Travel Blog | France – Paris

  1. NJ says:

    Beautiful pictures Jessie 🙂 Specially the panoramic ones 🙂 I have read a lot about Paris ..so knew about the places you mentioned 🙂 Hope to visit it someday 🙂

  2. Jim says:

    your pics are just fine. some of the best travel pics are the ones taken by amateurs. Paris is a beautiful city. see the Orsay if you have time.

  3. Jennifer Juneau says:

    Jessie, what an amazing travel blog! Your pictures are stunning and yes you are a fantastic photographer! I’ve been to Paris and the picture of Jardin Tuileries is my favorite and brings back good memories. ❤ It's such a gorgeous city. I've been to Disney World but not Disney Land, either way, you will have a blast!! 😀 Make sure you blog about that one too. 🙂

  4. Nicci says:

    Great post. Love your panoramas and especially your appreciation for this great city. I took the Thalys from Amsterdam to Paris too. Love the shots of breakfast and tea! Good job making the most of being near Paris, getting there, and seeing the major monuments. Your friend was a good guide indeed. Thanks for sharing the adventure.

  5. Red Tree says:

    Very well done travelogue. And speaking from the point of view of a semi-professional photographer, you are an excellent photographer yourself.

  6. annascuisine says:

    Beautiful place, beautiful photos! I especially love the panoramic photos. 😀 Paris is one of the many places I want to visit someday. You are blessed you were able to go and see its beauty and experience a bit of their culture.

  7. New Journey says:

    I loved it…you went to every place I visited when I was there…LOL I went in 2009 with my daughter and we spent 5 days in Paris…what a whirlwind trip…the Louvre was fantastic..we were there over 5 hours and only saw 2 floors…it was pretty fantastic…I was on top the Eiffel Tower with in 30 minutes from leaving the train…LOL it had been on my bucket list for over 25 years….needless to say we spend several hours up on the magnificent tower….we also were able to search out Sacre Coeur church on Montmarte Hill….so beautiful…if I had gone to Paris in my younger years I would of never came home….LOL good job on your travel post….kat

    1. Jessie says:

      hahah! Paris makes everyone so happy and awe-struck! And yes! I wish I had spent more time as i could have seen more places and would have gone up the Eiffel tower 😦 It’s just so beautiful! 😀 Thank you for writing your trip experience as well!

  8. gspottedpen says:

    It’s a pleasant narrative and the photos are mouth watering. I am very fond of Parisian intellectuals like Derrida, Foucault and Lacan. I hope I get the chance to visit there some day.

  9. equinoxio21 says:

    Hi Jessie. Thank you for the follow. You seem to have made the best of Paris. Busy feet in barely one day. Well done.
    You do realize you will have to come back for more right?
    😉
    Have a lovely week-end
    Brian

    1. Jessie says:

      It’s my pleasure! Haha indeed. To think back ,it’s a huge accomplishment to cover so much. But I still have so much more to see. I will be back ! 😊

  10. jncthedc says:

    Looks like you had a wonderful trip. Spending money on material possessions brings joy and happiness that is short lived; spending money on life’s experiences brings joy and happiness over a lifetime. Money well spent!

  11. mopana says:

    Did you had the feeling you’re being followed everywhere in Paris? That someone were always behind you, in any part of town you’ve been? If your answer is yes, I tell you who it was: the magic Eiffel Tower. You can see it from everywhere and it can, too 🙂

Leave a comment